These are a Few of my Favorite Things

I’ve reached that parenting stage where anything that can buy me two minutes to change my underwear or enjoy a meal that actually requires chewing might as well be divinely inspired.  Like all things Baby, these life-savers come and go with the tide.  I’m highly aware that, come tomorrow, Simon will have no interest in any of them, and will only be entertained by, say, razor blades or R-rated movies.  A sampling of what captivates him today:

(1) Baby Paper.  This was a wonderfully thoughtful gift from the wife of my second cousin (got that?), who thought our baby’s name was Simone.  We kept every single one of her adorably pink selections.

Baby Paper.  Basically, a square of felt that crinkles like cellophane and magically absorbs your babe's drool.  The grocery store discount card is provided for scale, but he likes sucking on that, too.  What germs?

Basically, a square of felt that crinkles like cellophane and magically absorbs your child’s drool. The grocery store discount card is provided for scale, but he likes sucking on that, too. What germs?

(2) Bowl o’ random things (we’re learning “out” and “in”).

Bowl o' random things (note the spoon).  His favorite items in this ensemble are the lid and, specifically, the tag on the lion squeaker.  That tag gets a lot of love.

His favorite items in this ensemble are the lid and, specifically, the tag on the lion squeaker. That tag gets a lot of tongue.

(3) Plastic melon baller.  Two for $4.99 on Amazon.

melon baller

Most kitchen utensils are baby catnip.  This gem comes with us on most walks. I’m hoping it’s BPA-free. :/

(4) “Old MacDonald”.  Sigh.  We’ve tried The Beatles, Miles Davis, Bob Marley–but our babe is a HUGE fan of the nauseating children’s classic.  Nothing, absolutely nothing, soothes him like this song.  I so regret introducing it.  As we mentioned in our last post, Kenny and I like to challenge whomever is leading the verse (“Old MacDonald had a…moss.”).  I’ll note that no one can make moss sound like I can.

(5) Hotel paraphernalia: the Do Not Disturb sign, a wash cloth, tea bags, and, yes, the germiest thing in the room.

Simon trying to spend his allowance on a viewing of "Frozen".  Didn't happen.

Simon trying to spend his allowance on a viewing of “Frozen”. Didn’t happen.

(6) Patterns.  The grid on the kitchen floor, the stripes on his socks, boxes/bottles/receipts, a row of light bulbs.  Anything high-contrast is great–some dear friends loaned us this book a while back, and I’d highly recommend it.

This time of wonder is so fun to observe.  I am sad to think that, one day, he won’t be content with recyclables, and we’ll probably engage in a narrow-eyed battle of wills over violent video games.  Until then, I’ll keep all my receipts.

 

4 thoughts on “These are a Few of my Favorite Things

  1. Ayla loves the remote control, which doubles as a phone, as far as she’s concerned. And of the 50-odd words she says, one of them is “E-I-E-I-O.” (Yes, we count that as a word.) I can’t wait for the two of them to have the chance to interact some more next month!!

  2. I love this post! Cheeky and true. I especially love how you are present with all of Simon’s moments.

Leave a Reply

